News & Press: Top HR Professionals

Nominations Now Open for the 2020 Delaware HR Awards

Monday, October 12, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Emma Pautler
Share |

Calling all HR Professionals!


HR attracts resilient leaders who desire to make an impact. This year imposed unprecedented challenges in our industry. Our day-to-day workplaces were disrupted and -- ready or not -- HR was on the front lines.  We want to take the time to shine a light on Delaware's finest HR professionals who are working to enrich our workplaces and community during these challenging times. 


Nominate yourself or a colleague for this year's Delaware HR Awards. There are three finalist categories: HR Innovator, HR Emerger, and HR Connector: 


  1. HR Innovator Award (or “Step Forward Award”) – How did you as an HR leader not only help your company “keep afloat” during COVID-19 but how did you make it flourish?
  2. New HR Emerger Award – As a first year HR Professional in a global pandemic, what skills or concepts did you have to learn quicker than expected and how did that help your employees and the company?
  3. The Connecter Award – We all learned to use Zoom and other types of virtual communication. What types of communications did you use to keep work from home employees still feeling engaged and not isolated? 




How It Works: 


  1. Nominate: Nominate yourself or an HR colleague. Download the nomination form here. Complete the form and email it to (deadline is November 6, 2020). 
  2. Review: Our review committee will review the nominations and inform finalists (November 20)
  3. Select: Our head judging committee will review the finalist's applications and select one winner for each category (December 23)
  4. Celebrate: We announce and celebrate the winners (more details coming soon, celebration will take place Q1 2021). 




Our esteemed judges will select the final awardees.

  • Dr. Colleen Perry Keith, President of Goldey-Beacom College
  • Karryl Hubbard, Asst. Secretary of the Department of Labor
  • Fred Dawson, Author “Women Who Radiate Success”

Committee Members

Innovator Awards Committee:
  • Diana Farrell, Chief Human Resources Officer – DART
  • Ivy Harlev, Executive Director – Siegel Jewish Community Center

Emerger Awards Committee:
  • Jeff Downing, Executive Director – Mt. Cuba Center
  • Cindy Campanella, Vice Presidential Organizational Development

Connector Awards Committee:
  • Mark Fields, Executive Director – Grand Opera House
  • Julie McDerby, Vice-President HR Director – Artisans’ Bank
Diane Campanile will serve as tie breaker on all three finalists.




  • Nominees must be current members in good standing of SHRM and/or of an affiliated Delaware SHRM chapter
  • Nominees must work or reside in Delaware
  • Nominees must be individuals in the Human Resources profession


Contact Us

Delaware SHRM
P.O. Box 251
Hockessin, DE 19707

Connect With Us